More Second Generation DVD+RW Drive Reviews, By ZDNET.com

vbimport

#1

More Second Generation DVD+RW Drive Reviews - ZDNET.com

HP DVD-Writer DVD200i drive
Score: 7.5
May 29, 2002 by H. G. Bryant
Complete Review

Sony Electronics DRU120A DVD+RW / CD-RW
June 3, 2002 - by Robert Luhn
Score 6.2
Complete Review

Pioneer Electronics DVR-A04 DVD-RW EIDE
Score 6.9
May 29, 2002 by H. G. Bryant
Complete Review

Conclusion from HP DVD200i Review by H. G. Bryant

[i][b]The most sensible choice[/b]
The DVD200i is an impressive performer and an excellent choice as a backup drive. Furthermore, DVD+R media may prove to be the most compatible DVD-recordable format. If you want or need a DVD burner today, a DVD+RW drive, such as the HP, is the sensible choice.

  • by H.G. Bryant[/i]

#2

Many more reviews here in DV-Info.net. :slight_smile:


#3

Some history of second generation DVD+RW drives: http://www.dvdplusrw.org/cgi/ikonboard/topic.cgi?forum=2&topic=841


#4

> DVD+R media may prove to be the most compatible DVD
> recordable format.

Please explain the following quote from cdrinfo.com:

<quote>

  • Compatibility Tests

The compatibility tests done with the two discs, written with Nero 5.5.8.0, (Panasonic DVD-R and Ricoh DVD+R), and had content a DVD movie:

DVD-ROM Drives DVD-R DVD+R
AOpen RW5120 Yes Yes
Ricoh MP5125A Yes Yes
Pioneer DVR-A03 Yes No
Pioneer DVR-A04 Yes No
Pioneer DCR-111 Yes Yes
LiteOn LTR-163 Yes Yes
AOpen 1648 Yes No
Pioneer-305 Yes Yes
BTC BDV316B Yes Yes
Samsung SD-616F Yes No
Pioneer DVD-106 Yes Yes
Toshiba SD-R1202 Yes Yes
</quote>

I can’t find this compatibility of dvd+r that you speak of.


#5

> Please explain the following quote from cdrinfo.com:
>
>
> I can’t find this compatibility of dvd+r that you speak of.

Right, and if you just look at “AOpen 1648 Yes No” dvd-r is 100%
compatible and dvd+r is 0% compatible, this is called statistics.
Now you can find on dvdplusrw.org compatibility results for 531
video players and 111 dvd-rom drives ; get the same number of
results for dvd-r, then your (and sarahjh69
's) compatibility comparisons
will start to make sense.


#6

Maybe nobody did dvd-r tests with dvd-roms, since every dvd-rom can read them (propery media such as mitsubishi of cource, i know that some refuse princo and penmax shit)?

I don’t care as to information spread by dvdplusrw.org. They only tell what they want to beleave, as well as pioneer does with
dvd-rw, it’s not worth the time to read them.

The only thing i’m interested in are independant tests / result.

Unfortunately, i also don’t know if the drives that refused dvd+r in this test only didn’t read some dvd+r or if they refused several types of media.


#7

Resources on DVD+RW, Mt. Rainier, CD-MRW, DVD+MRW, and Blu-ray Disk

DVD+R compatibility with PS (PlayStation) 2 discussion #946#1264
Compatibility List DVD-Video Players (May 11 Update)
Discussion of DVD-Video Players compatibility
Compatibility List DVD-ROM Drives (Added on May 11)
Disucssion on WinHEC 2002 Session: DVD+RW Presentation
DVD+R/+RW web price
DVD+R/+RW drive price
VCDHelp.com DVD+R compatibility list

DVD+R/+RW PC Drive Reviews
CDRinfo.com Ricoh MP5125A Review
OC.com.tw MP5125A Review
I’ve just finished the test of Ricoh MP5125A DVD+RW/+R
ZDNET HP DVD-Writer DVD200i drive Complete Review
ZDNET Sony Electronics DRU120A DVD+RW / CD-RW Complete Review
ZDNET Pioneer Electronics DVR-A04 DVD-RW EIDE Complete Review
DV-Info.net DVD+RW Drive Reviews

DVD Demystified DVD FAQ
[4.3] What about recordable DVD: DVD-R, DVD-RAM, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, and DVD+R?

Mt. Rainier CD-MRW Drive Reviews

CD Freaks Mt. Rainier FAQ - Mitsumi and Teac
CDRlabs Mitsumi 32/12/40 CD-MRW
CDRlabs Teac 40/12/48 CD-MRW and Yamaha 24/10/40 CD-MRW
CDRlabs Mitsumi 40/20/48 CD-MRW (12x -MRW)
CDRinfo 40x CD-RW Round-Up Vol.2
CDRinfo Review: Teac CD-W540E, Mitsumi CR-480ATE, Yamaha CRW3200E, Mitsumi CR-485CTE, TDK CyClone 401248B - Mt. Rainier Performance

Yamaha 44/24/44 CD-MRW, the first 24x CD-MRW drive to be released in July, 2002
Yamaha CRW-F1 Press Releases

Computex Taipei 2002 Coverage
Various interface technologies

More Mt. Rainier Resources

CDRinfo.com Mt. Rainier FAQ
DVDplusRW.org FAQ - DVD+RW PC drives compared to DVD-R/RW and DVD-RAM PC drives
Philips welcomes Microsoft support for DVD+RW format - Philips Press Release on April 15, 200
Microsoft - DVD Writing Support and Windows
Microsoft WinHEC 2002
Client Storage
Desktop DVD Recording and DVD+RW with Windows
(859 KB self-extracting zipped PowerPoint presentation; May 2, 2002)
The Next Generation of Optical Storage in Windows
(1.0 MB self-extracting zipped PowerPoint presentation; May 2, 2002)
Implementation Options for Serial ATA
(939 KB self-extracting zipped PowerPoint presentation; May 2, 2002)

Mt. Rainier Official Website
Mt. Rainier
DVD+RW
DVD+RW Alliance

Blu-ray Disc key characteristics
Blu-ray Disk and other future optical storage technologie


#8

Originally posted by alexnoe
Maybe nobody did dvd-r tests with dvd-roms, since every dvd-rom can read them (propery media such as mitsubishi of cource, i know that some refuse princo and penmax shit)?

I don’t care as to information spread by dvdplusrw.org. They only tell what they want to beleave, as well as pioneer does with
dvd-rw, it’s not worth the time to read them.

The only thing i’m interested in are independant tests / result.

Unfortunately, i also don’t know if the drives that refused dvd+r in this test only didn’t read some dvd+r or if they refused several types of media.

DVDplusRW IS independent and I am independent if that was your accusation.


#9

My accusation was that

  • DVDplusRW of course only highly praises their dvd+rw
  • Pioneer only praises their dvd-rw
  • you only give links to sources that are likely to be not independent, such as www.dvdplusrw.org.

I can only say that

  • i couldn’t find a dvd-rom drive that refused mitsubishi dvd-r/w, only crap discs may cause problems
  • some drives don’t read dvd+r/w
  • some standalones don’t read all (or even none) of dvd+/- r(w)

So it is quite clear that dvd-r is not less compatible than dvd+r, at least for dvd-roms (read twice before answering; many people have trouble as to if a statement implies a true negation or not; this one doesn’t). Standalones seem to be another topic.

PS2: as to cdrinfo, PS2 can read dvd+/- r, but neither +rw nor -rw.

I still can’t see anything (besides 2,4x instead of 2x / 1x) that makes dvd+ better than dvd-.


#10

Originally posted by alexnoe
My accusation was that

  • DVDplusRW of course only highly praises their dvd+rw
  • Pioneer only praises their dvd-rw
  • you only give links to sources that are likely to be not independent, such as www.dvdplusrw.org.

I can only say that

  • i couldn’t find a dvd-rom drive that refused mitsubishi dvd-r/w, only crap discs may cause problems
  • some drives don’t read dvd+r/w
  • some standalones don’t read all (or even none) of dvd+/- r(w)

So it is quite clear that dvd-r is not less compatible than dvd+r, at least for dvd-roms (read twice before answering; many people have trouble as to if a statement implies a true negation or not; this one doesn’t). Standalones seem to be another topic.

PS2: as to cdrinfo, PS2 can read dvd+/- r, but neither +rw nor -rw.

I still can’t see anything (besides 2,4x instead of 2x / 1x) that makes dvd+ better than dvd-.

OK, I don’t care if you are not able to see anything that makes DVD+RW better than DVD-RW since I can and whether you like DVD-RW or DVD+RW has nothing to do with me.

I listed not only DVDplusRW.org but also CDRinfo.com, CDfreaks.com, CDRlabs.com, DV-Info.net, ZDnet, OC.com.tw, DVDDemystiefied.com, Microsoft, Philips, Yamaha, and a lot others. If you properly have visited each of the links, quite a lot of them lead to hundreds of other sites. The only reason there are many links to DVDplusRW.org Forum is because I have read the posts there for some time carefully and a lot of them are my own postings.

And exactly what makes DVDplusRW.org not independent? Because DVD+RW site has a banner advertising an Alera DVD+RW drive? Because the operator lives in the Netherlands where Philips is a large company? Why do you compare Pioneer with DVDplusRW.org at all? The former is the primary manufacturer of DVD-RW drives and the primary manufacturer of DVD+RW drives is RICOH, not DVDplusRW.org forum.

Since you are praising only DVD-RW, I should suspect you could be a shareholder of Pioneer? Well, why don’t you suggest everyone reveal one’s true identity and etc.


#11

they are not independent because, as their name states, they are dvdplusrw. how much more blatant could they be about who they favor?

please dont fight here. it only shows the world how ignorant humans can be.


#12

> they are not independent because, as their
> name states, they are dvdplusrw. how much
> more blatant could they be about who they
> favor?

Well, being independent is not the same as
being neutral. Thanks God one can still be
independent (that is, nobody tells you what
to think/say) and have an opinion. And as long
as dvdpluswr.org gives honest and interesting
informations, we can only thank them for being
there… any -rw counterpart ?


#13

//would like very much this to be off topic//

could you all please stop this incredibly boring flamewar ?


#14

I have seen these flame wars on vcdhelp and dvdplusrw please dont start another one.

BTW: DVDplusrw might be independant but it only promotes the dvdplusrw format so Jorg is biased because he likes DVD “+”.

Me I do not have a particular preference as I dont gain anything one way or the other.


#15

> BTW: DVDplusrw might be independant but it only promotes
> the dvdplusrw format so Jorg is biased because he likes DVD “+”.

Yes, but I think anyone who knows a bit about the subject has
his own preferred format, whatever it is and for whatever reason.

> Me I do not have a particular preference as I dont
> gain anything one way or the other.

You don’t have an opinion on subjects you can’t
gain something from ?