More Pioneer DVR-110D problems

I just installed a DVR-110D in my machine. Machine’s a 2.5 gig Celeron. I have an NEC 3520 as master which runs UDMA mode 2, The Pioneer is set as slave and it runs UDMA mode 4. The NEC burns fine at any speed. The Pioneer, at anything above 8X, starts draining and filling the device buffer from 0 % to 95 % and back to 0 % as soon as it passes the 8X mark. This happens with CMC 12x and Taiyo Yuden 12x dvd-r discs. I don’t have any 12x dvd+r’s If I record at 8x, as soon as it hits the 8x mark the buffer keeps dropping an the speed drops to 7.5 then back to 8x. It constantly does this AT 8X. IS THIS FREAKIN DRIVE JUNK ??? I have a brand new 80 wire IDE cable on the drives, The hard drive is freshly defraged and the NEC is working fine.

Thanks again
Unisaw

Such media doesn’t exist, at least I’ve never seen them as 12x rated.

Connect the Pio 110 as MASTER, anyway.

The drive has to shift up the speed when burning faster than 8x because of the used write-method, as explained in this forum often before…
Because of that, the buffer is emtied and filled up again.

I meant to say the buffer keeps going up and down continuously once the drive hits 8x, not just once as it’s going to 8x. I just don’t want to be stuck with a bad drive.

The discs are 8x rated but the pioneer and my nec drives see them as 12x. My NEC’s burn them without any problems at 12x consistantly. They scan good and play perfectly on my set top players. Is my problem stemming from the fact that even though these discs are seen as 12x discs they are actually only rated at 8x ???

Thanks…

Chef, what is the difference between master and slave? I have a 110D connected as Primary slave and it seems to work fine (a Plextor Premium is the Primary master). Will the master/slave connection make a difference at high writing speeds?