"Mom's computer" project

vbimport

Hello to everyone!

I didn’t want to put this thread into any specific area since this is related to many categories, mainly social. :wink:

Here’s a brief overview: my mother is about to retire soon and she has some orthopedic problems. Because of this she is forced to be at home for almost 90 % of her time. And what she does? She is becoming a chain smoker with no will to do anything. All she thinks are her health problems. Father works almost 30 miles away and I am in my third year of UNI also 30 miles away from home. She is mainly alone. But to break up this loneliness I was thinking about a computer for her. And why? So she can get and search for informations about her problems and question also elsewhere than in hospitals.

Since I’m traveling with my computer the internet connection at home stays unoccupied because there is no computer at home. It’s 1 Mbit ADSL, fast enough for someone who would just browse the internet and download some ordinary stuff.
So I was thinking about getting a low-budget computer. I was thinking about $100-150 price range.

So what do I need to run properly the following applications:

• XP Home with language interface
  • Firefox (+ flash player, tabbed browsing)
  • ffdshow or other video/audio codecs mainly for music and encoded videos
  • remote control (with minimal settings)
  • DVD-ROM
  • kaspersky AV
  • AVG antispyware
  • spybot
  • some P2P (torrent, emule) in case she would learn how to use it and how to avoid frauds and viruses
  • windows messenger
  • acrobat reader
  • raxco perfect disk

Let’s say that all of the applications (except for raxco and remote control) are running at the same time (anti-spyware and AV in background just shielding not scanning, of course), what do I need?