Missing First Few Seconds When Burning Audio

Hi, I’m a newbie to these forums, but it looks like you’ve got a useful little community going here, and hopefully you can help me!

Just for the record, my name’s Rich, known as fettdog wherever I pop up on the net, and although I’ve been burning CDs for a few years, I’ve come across a problem that a new one on me, and on friends I’ve asked, but hopefully not on you guys! :slight_smile:

OK, I’d been happily burning CDs uysing Nero 5 (version 5.5.8.3) with no problems whatsoever, using a LITE-ON LTR-32123S burner (firmware revision XIS1).

Last week I installed a DVD rewriter, an ATAPI DVD DUAL (firmware revision ATC1), and things on the audio burning side have gone pear-shaped. :frowning:

I’ve made the DVD drive the primary drive, with the CD drive a slave drive (as it rips CDs faster than the DVD), and I’m having no problems in either ripping CDs, or in burning data to either CD or DVD respectively.

However, whenever I try and burn an audio CD (using disc-at-once which I’ve always used), the first track is fine, but all subsequent tracks have the first few beats of the audio missing (aprrox 0.5 to 1 seconds), which is really annoying, as where a tune starts immediately, it has the effect of sounding ‘clipped’ at the beginning.

I tried reinstalling Nero, and also setting the gaps between songs to zero seconds, but I’m still getting this ‘clipping’ effect. I could understand maybe if it was only doing it with the new DVD drive because I’m running Windows 98 (tho’ soon to upgrade to XP), but with regard to the CD drive, the only thing that’s changed is that it’s now a slave drive, but surely that wouldn’t cause this clipping problem?

Hopefully there’s enough info above to have explained the problem properly, but if you need any more, please let me know!