Mini Dvs, DVDs, no FireWire, SOS?

vbimport

I’m an amateur movie maker. So don’t get mad at me.

My computer doesn’t have a Firewire port that goes with my camera. (JVC GR DA30.) My dad’s has one, but it’s attached, so we can’t take it out. My camera needs a 4 pin to FireWire IEEE 1394, and my computer needs a USB 2.0.

But I’m not done with the question yet.

I used to make videos with my dad’s computer, and now he says I can’t even save it to my own CDs instead of his computer. His one and only option for me is to look on Tiger Direct, not find anything, then scour the store, find nothing, and then get told, “That’s too bad. 'Cause I still won’t let you use mine.” And I’m stuck in his phase for a good six years.

I’m trying to put a video on YouTube. How can I turn my MiniDV tape into a DVD (which my dad does let me use) with the help of no computer what so ever.

What kind of computer do you have? Is it a desktop or laptop? Let us know the make and model, and which operating system you are using.

If you have a desktop computer, and a free pci slot, you can put in a firewire card to download your videos. They range in price from about $6 on up (plus shipping) from Newegg.com Here is an example: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815265002

My dad refuses to buy anything online unless it’s from Tiger Direct, and if it’s not there, eBay. But it’s a desktop from eMachines, windows, no clue about the model make.

Here is the selection at ugh Tiger Direct: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=510&srkey=firewire%20card

Look in your case and see if you have a free pci slot before ordering one.

Now have to go wash out my computer after going to Tiger Direct. Yuck.

[QUOTE=Kerry56;2097147]
Look in your case and see if you have a free pci slot before ordering one.
[/QUOTE]

What?