Memory problems

vbimport

ok my question is that i have asus p4p8x and i want to upgrade the memory on that one. So i bought 256 3200 400mhz azen memory previously i had 256 3200 400mhz samsung memory. So when i installed the both memories together computer doesn’t boot. i put each one at a time computer boots but if i put together it doesn’t boot. so took both memories and put into a another computer together with amd cpu it works but not on my computer. Which means memory isn’t bad cause it works if i put one at a time. I don’t know about the dual and single memory cause if boots together on the other computer with different motherboard then it should work. Maybe this might be the cause but i have no knowledge about it. Another thing i did is put into 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 slots to check out but no luck so i returned the memory and bought another brand which is GB micro and same thing happens. I updated the bios but not sure whether it is right one. I don’t what is wrong so please help if there is like compatiability bios i need to download please direct me that link thanks

i think it has something to do with the dual channel capabilities of your motherboard. Basically, dual channel ram is like a RAID array. In a RAID array, you have to have two hard drives (or more, but we’ll stick to two), both of equal size and speed etc, if there not of equal size then you’ll just end up losing some space (so say you had a 40gb hard drive and a 60gb in a RAID array, you would lose 20gb). So RAID-0 (or stripping), you store half of each file on each drive, so splitting the work load. Same applies for dual channel ram, they share the load, and so make your system faster.

The reason they work on the AMD syatem is that it won’t support dual channel ram and so you can stick in different types etc without any difficulty.