Memorex, good deal or no?

So i work at Staples and this week we are having a special on Memorex CD-R 100 spindle for only 14.98 down from the usual 40.00

i used Nero to find out who made them and it says Ritek.

was this a good for what i got?

hears a pic:

im new to the whole cd kinda thing so any info would be great.

Ritek CD-R isn’t too bad. It’s usually a decent cheap alternative when you don’t need the best stuff.

Make sure you pair it with a decent writer and it should be OK for at least data use. I’ve personally used Ritek under a few brands with no issues just because it was made by Ritek, so I’d say you didn’t get too bad of a deal. :slight_smile:

Just know that if any issues occur, the Ritek discs [like most media by most manufacturers] aren’t guaranteed to be perfect for everyone. :wink:

EDIT: Just note for future reference that Memorex isn’t the best brand to get for any other optical media. They source their media from a variety of manufacturers, and get varying grades, so you can have close to the best of the best, or the worst of the worst. But their CD-R is usually pretty decent.

ok what brand would you suggest i get?

[QUOTE=jonathan9590;2290859]ok what brand would you suggest i get?[/QUOTE]
Well, our typical recommendation is something along the lines of Verbatim and Maxell CD-R in-store can usually do OK. [Buying Maxell still has a good chance of getting you Ritek-made CD-R, which again isn’t bad; just some brands typically have a better quality than Memorex]. But if you need the quality, Taiyo Yuden-made discs are our prime choice for CD-R media that’s known to “just work” in most any scenario.