Memorex/CMC DVD+R grumble

vbimport

While browsing the cdfreaks forums I noticed that folk were fairly happy with their Memorex DVD+R 4x which were in fact made by Ritek. So I bought a spindle only to find that these were made by CMC (who are CMC, are CMC in fact Memorex?) and they are dreadful. Obviously Memorex have switched or use several suppliers or started making them themselves but bung all the different makes in the same packaging.
Although I am no expert these forums have demonstrated time and time agian that a)Media varies in quality, b)Burners “learn”, c)Consistancy and finding the right media for your particular drive are all important.
How on earth can any-one get reliable results if each time you buy a new spindle of discs of the same brand they’ve changed suppliers?

I think that company’s selling re-badged media should be forced to state the actual manufacturer (and the grade of the media) somewhere on the packaging.

Anyone with me on this?

I don’t think it’s practical or fair to make it mandatory, but as consumers, we can insist upon being told or choose not to buy. I buy from mail order places that clearly identify the media. I don’t care if it’s branded, I care who made it and what grade it is.

This is a lost cause. :sad: You might as well ask an auto maker to identify every component in a car, and who made it. They honestly don’t know who might be the maker on a given spindle of media, and they’re never going to make different packaging for each type. In the case of Memorex, it’s whomever meets their “specs” at the lowest price.

Personally, I’ve never had a single issue with CMC media in my NEC drives. I certainly can’t say that about Ritek, Ricoh or Prodisc, who are the other likely Memorex candidates. In fact, I look specificaly for CMC when I need cheap every-day DVD media.