Media write error! Help

I have never used AnyDVD or Clove DVD2 before. I have downloaded both. The programs are working fine until it attempts to write to DVD. Media Write Error.
10 11 W 2.
I am using version 2.8.9.2 My burner is a NEC DVD + RW ND-1100A.
When writing should begin it prompts me to insert blank disk into drive E: although disk already in place. So i eject and re-enter then it says erasing and then writing begins usally followed by the write error. Please help

Well …since you got a media write error, what kind of media are you using?

Whisperer

Memorex DVD + RW

Déjà Vu all over again. Memorex DVD + RW is your problem. Never buy them again. Please do a cdf search: keyword Memorex.

Also RW media is unreliable, use -R media or use +R and booktype it to DVD-ROM.

Whisperer

What does booktype it to dvd-Rom mean?
Also I will try the sony dvd + R, I have some here. When i used to use dvd x copy the sony + R disks would not work. But I will try this again.

If your drive is not made to booktype +R media to DVD-ROM then you are better off sticking to -R media for broader player compatibility. Buy Sony -R (as long as the packaging states Made in Japan), Taiyo Yuden, or Verbatim. Buy them on line if your stores don’t carry them.

Whisperer

Out of about 40 dvd’s i’ve never had problems with Memorex 16x DVD+R Discs. That’s kind of weird.

@ branden726,

Perchance using Nero CD-DVD Speed have you done an ScanDisc and DiscQuality scan on your burned Memorex 16x DVD+R disc? You might be surprised of the results. Just because a burned Memorex 16x DVD+R disc appears to play properly does not mean that it does not contain errors due to poor quality media, which will cause the burned Memorex 16x DVD+R, disc to fail and become unplayable in the future.

If you are interested Nero CD-DVD Speed is available for free download at http://www.cdspeed2000.com/files/NeroCDSpeed_410.zip

Best Regards,
bjkg