Media selection

So I now have folders that are larger than 30GB to write. At this size using DVDs would be impractical.

What’s the recommended brand/media these days for archival? Since I’m new to Blu Rays are 50GB disks a good idea for people who don’t want to split anything larger than what a single layer disk can hold?

Thank you.

There´s no other choice with these amount of data andoptical media, I guess :wink:

If the files can be splitted are 25GB-media is the best choice. It cost much less and the selection is bigger

So which brand and type would you choose?

Panasonic

Or M-Disc Verbatims if price permits.

If you get Panasonic for a reasonable price, get it

Unfortunately Panasonic media is prohibitively expensive in Canada.

Are M-Discs reliable or just a marketing gimmick?

In any case I’m going to be writing with the Pioneer XD05 if that matters.

Edit: And are the BD-DL and BDXL formats bad for file integrity?

I’m in Canada and I only use Panasonic BD-R DL 50GB discs for long term storage (I need the space, 25GB is too small for video files). They are not anymore expensive then anywhere else in the world. The key is where you are shopping for them. There are only two places I now purchase my Blu-ray media from:
Amazon.ca here: https://www.amazon.ca/Panasonic-Blu-ray-Recordable-Spindle-Printable/dp/B01HJPZCLA/
use JP-Gate and if you need them in a hurry get express shipping.
• or eBay.ca like this one (currently the most affordable for the 50-disc stack): http://www.ebay.ca/itm/New-50-Panasonic-Bluray-BD-R-DL-50GB-4x-Speed-Dual-Layer-Inkjet-Printable-Discs-/142024647597?hash=item21115423ad:g:5qkAAOSwnNBXX63o
Again use express shipping if you need them soon.

eBay seems to be a little more affordable right now. It used to be the other way around. If you need fewer discs then just search eBay using the key words “Panasonic BD-DL” and you will find lots of options for purchasing smaller amounts, but they cost more per disc, as a rule.