May Not Wait

As a newbie here, I was wondering if I could get your advice. I bought a TLA 0000 716A from Best Buy in Oct., returned it last week. Unlike many of you, all I plan to get is one DVD burner. After spending a couple of weeks dealing with my 716A problems, the posts here make we worry that if I get another 716A, I may still have problems. Alternatively, I can get another drive now. I see that Newegg has the NEC OEM for $68, which is fine for me since I already have Nero (and also need a black drive). While I realize there is a separate NEC forum, I figure you may give me a more objective response! What would you suggest - wait and see what Plextor does, or go with NEC? Thanks!

nelle > I would go to NEC forum and look at the threads there. There are many many firmwares to try. More posts on which firmware would work for me in all of the forums here. So alot of reading to do there to see if you plan to keep original firmware or to flash to bonafied NEC upgraded firmware or to try the many many hacked firmwares…It’ will make you head spin when you 1st start reading. If you know about flashing then you will have no problem. I have a NEC-2510 flashed to a NEC-2500 with 1.07v.b5dl RPC-1 Riplock removed and it runs good. But thinking of trying Quikee’s new firmware 2.F8 beta 1 RPC-1 Riplock removed which changes it back to a NEC-2510 again. So if you got all that then you are good to go…

Get the NEC or the BenQ.
Plextor has exhibited problems, not in design but in execution of those designs since the 708, continuing with the 712 and now the 716 and it doesn’t appear they have it corrected to this date. It seems to be a real gamble buying Plextor DVD writers.
I mean just look at the threads. What are people talking about? Their excellent burns and how their Plextors are just blowing away the competition? No, it’s full of “Do you think they will get this fixed in the next TLA”? What does that say to you?