Maxell/Ritek CD-R Rot/Corrosion (ATIP: 97m15s17f)

vbimport

Hi everyone, “new” member here. I think I had an account here sometime around 2003, but I can’t really recall the details now so… I don’t really have any story to tell but I’ve been involved in recordable optical media since mid-1990s, still consider optical the most reliable offline backup option. I also have a lot of drives to scan CD/DVD’s on, so even if you’ll hate my opinions and blabber at least I’ll be useful to the forum in that sense LOL :wink:

So with that out of the way, let’s get to the topic here. I’ve been using Maxell branded Ritek CD-R’s for about 15 years and I’ve found these phthalocyanine discs to be rather well supported on anything I’ve used. They also used to be of reasonable quality up until about 2008, when they changed things around, and that is what this thread will be about. I don’t have any inside information on Maxell/Ritek business decisions but I do have a camera and a DVD drive that scans disc quality, this will be simply a “community alert” type thing and I’m not going to tell you what you should do, but I will give you the facts of the case.

That case being that modern Ritek CD-R’s are subpar crap. Idk if that comes as surprise to anyone, for $0.20 per disc you really get what you pay for… but let’s look at the facts anyway.

So let’s get straight to it. Here is an early-mid 2000’s Maxell-branded CD-R80XL-S 700MB (ATIP: 97m15s17f, hub code: RFD80M-09277) disc, pictures for identification and scan (apologies for non-full disc, but this is the one I found first):

So although it’s a partial scan, you can still tell this is likely a high quality disc all-around. Although the problems I will discuss will be situated at the outer ends of the disc, that’s why I’m gonna show you the pictures of this disc so you can see there is no sign of degradation on the label side: