Maxell RG01 - GREAT!

Hi,

I am a noob to this.

I have stumbled accross some old Maxell RG01. DVDIdentifier info to follow…

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:MXL RG01]

Disc Type : [DVD-R]
Manufacturer ID : [MXL RG01]
Disc Application Code : [Unrestricted Use : Consumer Purpose]
Recording Speeds : [1x - (2x)]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4,489.3 MB = 4.38 GB]

1. The forum questions whether these are the best discs. Are they good? Does good mean they will last longer? I want longevity out of my burns with my Pioneer 106D. Speed is not an issue.

2. How do you interpret the PI & PO graphs? Is there a good web site that explains this?

Thanks.

Originally posted by Serpeant
[B]Hi,

I am a noob to this.

I have stumbled accross some old Maxell RG01. DVDIdentifier info to follow…

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD-R:MXL RG01]

Disc Type : [DVD-R]
Manufacturer ID : [MXL RG01]
Disc Application Code : [Unrestricted Use : Consumer Purpose]
Recording Speeds : [1x - (2x)]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,298,496 Sectors = 4,489.3 MB = 4.38 GB]

1. The forum questions whether these are the best discs. Are they good? Does good mean they will last longer? I want longevity out of my burns with my Pioneer 106D. Speed is not an issue.

2. How do you interpret the PI & PO graphs? Is there a good web site that explains this?

Thanks. [/B]

1: Make sure that they are maxell branded(or states made in Japan)!!!. As there is a lot Hong Kong media with fake maxell ID!. Real maxells seems to be great :slight_smile:

2: I’m working on it, hopefully ready in a day or two.

Hi,

I didnt get the packaging as I bought a few off my mate’s spindle to be pleasantly surprised that they were maxells.

Without the packaging, how do I tell if they are fake or not? They are branded “Smart Disc 2X” and the only way I know they are Maxell G01s is the DVD Identifier tells me so.

They are bought in Australia.

I look forward to your explanation of the PI and PO.