Maxell +R DL

vbimport

I bought these and burned w/ no problems to date. Everyone keeps saying Verbatim is the only DL to buy. My question is this, will the maxell deteriorate
later, or am i lucky my burner seems to have no problems w/ these? They have a sale at best buy this week and I was planning on buying more, but if i am going to have problems later, i will spend more money and get Verbatims.

Which country of origin does it have?
Which media code?

Maxell uses Verbatim for Dual Layer in some cases, I have some in Jewel cases.

Does your packaging say Made in Singapore

It could also be Ritek or Ricoh.

sorry for the slow response, i am new to all this. I just downloaded DVD Identifer and it shows the disk is Ritek D01. I have burned a full 25 spindle w/out any problems. I have a philips 8631 w/ the latest firmware and havent made a single coaster.

Will these discs deteriorate over time or is my burner just doing a good job w/ these discs?

RITEK D01 is not really good media.
There is not experience so we cannot say exactly how this media will behave.
Are you able to make a disc quality scan with Nero CD-DVD Speed? :slight_smile:

i have never used nero cd-dvd speed. let me download it and I will respond as soon as i can w/ this.

it wont let me do a disc quality scan. it says i need to do a create disc

Is the disc in the drive empty? If so, put a DVD that you’ve previously burned into the drive - scanning only works with burned DVD’s :slight_smile:

how embarrassing…like i said i am new to all this. let me put in a burned disc and try again.

Don’t worry - it’s nothing to be embarassed about :slight_smile:

all was going well and then I got an Error! FOCUS SERVO FAILURE (040902)

before i got this error, it showed quality score of 97. no PI Failure and I was average something in the neighborhood of 16 PI errors and jitter average was 8.1. It got through about half the disc.