Maxell batch opinion needed

vbimport

I bought a 100 pack spindle of Maxell 8x DVD+Rs today at FutureShop (in Canada) since they were on sale for $35 Canadian. I have no idea if these are good quality or not (because I’m a noob to this stuff). Since I intend to use them for archiving purposes, I want to know if I should exchange them.

The sides of the discs are rather lumpy, only the bottom layer though. The writing around the ring for the first disc is C6-02CH3504129611D18 (around the clear part in the centre, right before the hole) and VR5CH3-00013 around the purple ring. The dye on the bottom is purple (does this even matter?). Here is what KProbe has to say:

Should I return this batch and look for something that said “Made in Japan” as opposed to “Made in Taiwan”?

I have a Lite-ON 451s if that matters.

Hi, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

"Should I return this batch and look for something that said “Made in Japan” as opposed to “Made in Taiwan”?

That’s what I would do. Ritek +R media should be A-grade when sold under the Maxell Brand, but I don’t think it’s on par with Maxell’s own +R production.

Furthermore, Ritek R03 doesn’t have a great reputation, look for the relevant thread in the Blank media tests section.
http://club.cdfreaks.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&f=76&page=1&pp=30&sort=lastpost&order=desc&daysprune=-1

Cheers :slight_smile:

Thanks for the welcome.

What about -R media? Look for Made in Japan as well?

Yes.

Made in Japan Maxells 8X DVD-R’s mediacode si MXL RG03 and these are GREAT discs, among the best actually.

There has been reports, though, of Maxells 8X DVD-Rs where the cakebox mentions “made in Japan” but with Ritek G05 discs inside. :a

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=143407

Do read this thread as a member (Bear17) found a way to determine by looking carefully at the box. :bow:

Good luck :slight_smile: