Manually Create Chapters while Capturing to DVD

vbimport

Ok, so I am not a newbie, but this is a question that has stumped top minds. Who? TOP MINDS!

I need a way to create a chaptered DVD instantly, but here’s the catch, I want to manually add these chapter marks while recording. Imagine a live event, multicamera switch mastered to a DVD and duped immediately for sale. But right now, we have to live with 5 minute auto chapter inserts. I found a Pioneer that was the size of a BetaCam deck which claimed to have this function, but the reviews were horrible.

Now, does this exist or not? I don’t want to record to the HD and then go back and add them to the clip, then burn. If I were going to do that I would use a capture board and a PC. Which brings me to question #2: Does a capture board (with software) exists which would allow this same process: to add a chapter mark while capturing. Imagine we are capturing this same event video directly from the switcher and while it is capturing, I am hitting a key and this is making a chapter mark at that timecode. SO when I stop the capture, on my timeline is an MPEG-2 clip with all the chapter marks in the clip. Then I can burn to disc from the timeline without a “render” but perhaps a 20 minute build-prepare-burn. The chapters do not need a name, only to be there as a number. I guess I could take the extra 5 minutes to type in chapter names if that were possible.

This is what I want. Does it exist?

I know the older Philips DVD recorders let you make manual chapter marks (that were DVD-Video compatible) by hitting a button on the remote whilst recording live to DVD +RW disc. Probably that’s the easiest route for you, but possibly a bit of research on the newer models (including other makes like Panasonic, Sony etc) is in order.

Having said that, those mainstream manufacturers don’t tend to support the ‘plus’ format very well.

Hi SEVRochester and imkidd57: