Malfunctioning HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GMA-4020B Drive

I am a newbie - to both this forum and CD-DVD technology so I apologize in advance for any supid questions. I’m running an IBM Netvista PC 1Gz - 784MB RAM. I just replaced the stock CD burner with a multi CD/DVD burner mentioned above. It seemed to work fine at first - i had to download a codec to get it to play DVDs. So far so good. Then I tried buring CDs (adding to some I already had and formatiing others from scratch). That’s when the fun began. What a nightmare. I am getting every error one can imagine. Nothing consistent. Now the CDs won’t format - when I try to format or copy to a CD - the CD writer fails on the last step. I’ve tried different speeds and different media (that work on other XP machines) - the latest is that my Roxio Creator 7 won’t even acknowledge that the drive exists. (Says no recorder available). I’m about ready to pull it and put back my simple CD burner but I thought I would try for some advice first. I did not get any software with the drive - installed it without additional drivers. Could this be the problem? Is Roxio CD Creator 7 compatible with this drive? Can I get updated firmware anywhere. I’m really grasping at straws at this point but I appreciate any ideas or advice.
Pericles

Well what kinda burner do you have ? Also they do have inexpensive DL burner now so why are you just buying CD/DVD multi - not sure what you mean by that does that include DL function? What is your O/S and what kinda codec you download? What program are you doing the codec for? I start there…