Making my laptop DVD region free? Pls help!

vbimport

Hello - I am a complete newbie hoping for some help! :confused:

I have a standard Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop with Sony combo CD-RW and DVD-ROM drive CRX835E. When I bought the computer (in October 2005) they assured me I could play any region DVD… but of course I realised soon after that you can only change the region 5 times. Half of my DVDs are from the UK, half are from the US, so I need my laptop’s DVD player to be region free. I hacked all our DVD players but this seems a whole lot more complicated! :doh:

I downloaded DVD Region+CSS Free Lite but it hasn’t made any difference at all. I restarted, made sure it was enabled, but no difference. I put the DVD in, Dell Media Player starts up and tells me I have to change the region - and I don’t want to do this as I only have 2 or 3 changes left!

I apologise if this is a really stupid question… but would be really grateful if you could help me! :bow:

The obvious option would be to used ‘region free’ firmware but i’m not sure any exists for this drive. You may also want to check the liteon forum as I seem to remember this sony is one of theirs - perhaps there’s some liteon ‘patched’ firmware that is compatable.

BE CAREFUL though as this will probably invalidate any warranty you have.

Further options would be to consider applications which make the drive region free. Your original post seems to suggest you have tried a few however most people seem to have success with ‘anydvd’ which does require a ‘chargeable’ licence but is free for a trial period of 21 days.

Another option could be ‘DVD43’ which is free but probably not quite as good.

Hope this helps and welcome to the forums :flower:

Thank you - I will try the suggested programs.

Just wanted to say that invalidating the warranty is not an issue - I live in the Cayman Islands where warranties aren’t valid anyway (bought computer in the US though). Just as long as I don’t break it!!