Maddog 2510 burns not playing right

I bought this as an upgrade- brand new from Comp usa- madgod 6 in 1 dual layer/format.

my previous drive was an hp300i which worked perfectly.

Now however- when using my memorex media- the dvd will burn- but will NOT play in my apex dvd player. All burns using memorex media and using dvd shrink have played perfectly as burnt by my Hp300i.

If i cannot play dvds i make with this burner- i do not want it- and will return it - i’m a newbie to fireware and all this stuff- so if someone knows what the problem is - please tell me.

I recently read a thread somewhere in these forums that this is my problem

had an hp300i and all the dvdr+ i burned played perfectly on my apex 600a ( they read as discbook= dvdr+ and book type as dvd rom)

all the new ones burn as dvdr+ book type dvdr+ and will NOT play in my apex- im a newbie and do not know what flashing all all this means- but how do i make my player work the way i want it too?

So it is a booktype problem, read the topics about bitsetting and Herrie’s firmware.

If you flash Herrie’s firmware it will booktype automatically to dvd-rom as with your HP.

well - see i don’t know how to “flash” the drive- i do know that i found a bitset tool for the NEC 2510a that lets me toggle the book type from dvdr+ to dvd rom- which is exactly what i need- however- the official 2.16 nec firmware- requires the 2.15 offical first to be flashed- which i cannot find- and would not know how to flash it- if i could.

I’ve read thru this site for 10 hours or more and my head is broken.

I want Riplock removal- and SL and DL bitsetting (or just SL if i must)

for a nec 2510a - what do i need- what firmware best serves what i want - where do i get it- and if it’s not windows( dummy proof) how do i “flash”
my nec is slaved i believe (2nd rom drive)

Have a read through this link…

http://forum.rpc1.org/viewtopic.php?t=25904&highlight=107v2+Beta+5