Mad Dog Megastor MD-16SDVD9A2 / NEC?

vbimport

Although I’ve been burning SL DVDs for a few years, I’m a complete newbie with the DL DVD drives. I’d like to get into the DL drives for the obvious reasons – I do wedding, etc. videos and can use the extra space. Prob has always been compatibility fo +R or -R.

What I’m reading about the new DL burners is that I can bitset to a more generic DVD-RAM setting for +R DL’s. I’m also understanding that this same bitsetting will work for SL +R with some of the drives.

I’ve been reading for days/weeks trying to decide on a brand of burner that would accommodate this. Pioneer has a lot of followers, but doesn’t appear to do SL +R’s with its drives. I’m somewhat intimidated by flashing the f/w, although I have upgraded my f/w with my current HP burner.

I ran a hardware search on videohelp.com for DL burners. It mentions a couple of NEC burners, but does not include “bitsetting”. It also mentions a couple "Mad Dog Megastro burners that show OEM-NEC and Chipset-NEC. The difference is the Mad Dog’s DO say bitsetting.

My question: Are these "Mad Dog Megastor burners actually NEC, but with bitsetting?

I was also looking at Lite-On, which has the bitsetting, but NEC sounds more compatible and dependable? All options and suggestions appreciated… THANKS!

Either Liteon or NEC would be good choices; I have both. I would avoid DL DVD as they are massively over priced media and a lot of people find the burn quality is significantly below that of SL burning.

Many Mad dog drives are NEC but you don’t have to go there to get bitsetting, go here:http://www.micheldeboer.nl/firmware/

Also, so you are accurate, bitsetting sets the disc to DVD-ROM not RAM.

Between the current Liteon and NEC choices I would go with the NEC 3520 or the Liteon 1693.

Hello and welcome to the forum
Yes they are NEC drives. :wink:
EDIT : Are you sure there is a S in the model number? :confused:

Thanks for the quick responses.