Mad Dog Burner will not play dvds

vbimport

Hello all,
I am new to all of this dvd burning stuff but I am looking forward to learning alot from this site and getting to know everyone.
Now my problem:
I just bought my Mad Dog MD-16XDVD9 as it was awarded the CDfreaks.com safe buy award. So I take it home, Install the drive, install the software(Nero OEM suite 1), and throw in a cd.
Works great!
Next I put in a dvd and nothing happens.
I eject the dvd and retry it and nothing happens.
Next I unistall the software and reinstall and the same thing happens. NOTHING!
When I say “nothing” I mean that the Nero media player starts but I does not play the dvd.
Am I just expecting the wrong thing when I think that I can just install hardware and software and play a dvd?
Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance,
Jason

Don’t know exactly what you have done, but perform the following steps.

1. Ensure that you have the device on the ide cable correctly (IE master/slave.
  2. Go into device manager and remove the drive. Then reboot and let windows autodetect the drive.
  3. If you are still having problems, remove all ide devices, and the primary and secondary ide, and reboot and let windows detect the devices.
  4. If you are still having problems then, report back.

Hey Jason… Welcome to the forum. Along with harly’s idea’s, also when in device mgr. make sure that you have the drive set to DMA. What kinf of DVD are you trying to play? If you have a few different DVD’s, try them. Hopefully the one you’ve tried is bogus and this will be a simple fix. If these things don’t work let us know and add what your system is. An example of this can be seen in my signature at the bottom of this post. Good luck and keep us informed.

Mark

Hello Rob & Mark,
Thank you very much for the quick respone!!! I will try this tonight when I get home and report back on the outcome.
Again thank you very much,
Jason

Hello Guys,