LVW-5005XS Macrovision Hack?

Hi,

Has anyone been able to do the Macrovision Hack on a LiteOn LVW-5005XS?

I bought my used LiteOn LVW-5005XS 2 days ago and the S/N I had to begin with was S/N: 0102-4140-0101-G2BD (100-010D)

I used Mr. Wizard’s ILOHacker1.5 software and when I used the HEX editor, I noticed that the macrovision hack has been done on the Hacked Firmware Version. This is what I have in my hacked firmware file “55 53 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01”.

I loaded this firmware in my recorder and now my S/N appears as 0102-4140-0101-G2BD (000-010D) after loading the Hacked Firmware so I know it is Region Free and the LP (3 hour recording) is working. I just don’t know how to get the Macrovision disabled.

Can anyone help me with this? I am a newbie at this.

Thanks.

The only way is to make your unit a ILO R-04 (iI think thats the right number) The ILO is a rebadged LVW-5005X. If I remember right you can find it at Mr. Wizzards site. If I find where I got it for sure I’ll let you know. If the info. is not here in old posts search the ILO forum I know the info. can be found there.

look for ILO help here

Thanks to both of you for the valuable information CCRomeo and Dr. Paul

The second digit within parenthesis indicates status of copy protection, 0 indicates enabled while 1 indicates disabled. For details of what various parts of serial number indicate see post #23 at http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=183223. If you could hex edit the second digit in parenthesis to be 1 instead of 0 on your unit, that should disable copy protection. Don’t ask me how to do that as I’ve never done any hex editing.

Another option would be to find a 098 firmware with 0102-4140 as first 2 sets of 4 digits of serial number for which the hack program should work without need for hex editing.