LVW 5005x Lite-on Finalized & Can't read on anything but it

vbimport

Hi. Newbie here. I search through the liteon thread but can’t find anything that fits my situation. I purchased a Liteon 5005x DVD recorder/DVD player that will record off my tv and from my video camera. I recently recorded from my video camera and everything appeared to go well. I played it back and it worked on the liteon. It was recorded on a DVD +R because it was only about an hours worth video and wanted to add to it. I decided to transfer the video to my PC to add more video and make a movie for family. I finalized the DVD+R on the liteon 5005x. Now I can’t play it on anything but the liteon 5005x. I tried another dvd player and two different dell dvd drives. How can I save this video. I have mistakenly taped over the part of the video that is now on the disc I can’t copy or play from anyother dvd player. Help??? PS. Liteon support was not helpful and gave no suggestions.

I am having problem finalizing a DVD with 5005x too. After I transferred my VHS to DVD, finalized it and it did not play back on anything. Lite-on even sees no disc. Is it a firmware problem or a lite-on common illness? a compatible media problem? Please help. Thank you.

I am having the same problem…it finalizes, but will not play in any other DVD player, nor on my PC!! Can anyone help, or should I return the darn thing?
Thanks!!

Use 16x media dvd+r like memorex. If you use rw+ use 8x or better. My 5005 required two differnet drivers one for dvd drive and one for the system. I have not tried my physical modifications on the 5005. Probably would work though–.

I’ve had my 5005 for two years now and with the original drive (DDW 451S) I never had much luck with dash media. For my 5005, using a low speed (1-4x) +r or +rw has always worked. These days I almost exclusively use HP branded PHILIPS 041 +RW to record anything and then do the editing etc. on the computer.