LTR-52327S will not recognize blanks

New system, WinXP with the LTR-52327S as master and a DVD-rom as slave on IDE 2.
I love to use Nero for burning and have never had a problem with it before on my old system (win2k).
Now, with this new drive, using both Nero Express (that came bundled with the drive) or a demo version of Nero 6.something, my drive will not recognize blank media.
The drive will read other cd’s (I’ve tried only music cd’s so far)
I’ve searched some and can’t find a good solution.
I did go to the lite-on site and downloaded a firmware upgrade, which I’ve run several times (file is called R52QS0C), to no avail. - results are the same.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I’m a total newbie. If this question is newb-forum worthy, then so be it, but the fact remains is that I still need help. :slight_smile:
Thanks all.

• Travis

(I see a warning about a firmware upgrade possibly rendering drive useless for burning for this model in a sticky at top of lite-on forum, but fact is that I was having trouble with this beforehand too, so I’m not any worse off yet)

Surely someone else must be having this problem. I see it’s been mentioned a few times for other models.

Disconnect the DVDROM drive and try again.

The DVD drive disconnection did not change the response of the 52327S drive - blanks still not recognized. (is this what I get for trying to build my own system? :slight_smile:
Thanks for the reply.

Have you been through this thread?

I see you are using the same drive that I’m having problems with. I wonder if you have problems with the Intel drivers? Do you use them?
I will first thank you for your patience in helping me.
I tried numerous things on that webpage, I will go into one and what happened:
I uninstalled my Intel drivers (I think).
In my device manager, under IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers, I’ve got three things: 1. Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers, 2. Primary IDE Channel, 3. Secondary IDE Channel.