LtnFW question

vbimport

Hi I’m really a newbie to all this so please bear with me if I ask some basic questions.

I recently picked up 2 100ea. spindles of Sony -R (made in Malaysia 16d1) blank DVDs at a yard sale ($5.00 for both!!!)

I think my Liteon doesn’t support this media type, I get the “Cannot write medium-incompatible format error”

I’d like to “add support” for this media.

In the “F.A.Q. for LiteOn Optical Drives” it says
“The best way to get a media support list is to backup your drive’s firmware to a file using LtnFW and then use OmniPatcher to extract the list of supported DVD media codes and their burn speeds.”

My first question is where do I “browse” for the bin file LtnFW asks for so I can backup my drive’s firmware before using OP?
More questions to follow.

Shuttle X
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 2166 MHz (13 x 167) 3000+
Motherboard Name Shuttle FN45 (1 PCI, 1 AGP, 2 DDR DIMM,
Audio, LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
System Memory 2048 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (04/14/04)
Optical Drive LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1633S
(DVD+R9:2.4x, DVD+RW:16x/4x,
DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:16x,
CD:48x/24x/48x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
Firmware BSOY
OS XP SP3

PS I know my equipment is old but it’s “good” enough for me

I THINK you can use the Flash Utility to backup your firmware instead, which may be easier than ltnfw.

Either way: You’ll be reading the firmware from the drive into a new file that you save…wherever you want. Just try the backup process and see what happens. :slight_smile:

I downloaded and used codeguys flash utility to backup my firmware (pretty easy) then used OminPatcher to check supported media. It seems my firmware already supports my blank discs so my problem must lie elsewhere. Will start a search.
Thanks

What program are you using to burn?

I used ImgBurn to create an Iso then IB to burn. I get the “Cannot Write Medium-Incompatible Format” even though OmniPatcher shows the Sony 16D1 is supported.