Looking to upgrade my cd rom to dvdrw but I have a problem please help

vbimport

I am looking to upgrade my slimline CD rom to a slimline DVDRW but I have a problem please help:

The problem I have is that the CDROM slots into a metal plate that is attached to the PC, HP DC7600 on the CDROM there is a flat connection about 2inches long that slots straight into the metal plate. therefore, the power lead is connected to the plate and not the CDROM, I have googled the serial and this is the information I get:

LG CRN-8245B CDROM
Height Ultra Slim 12.7mm
Data Transfer Rate Max 3,600KB/s (24x, CAV)
Power Consumption 600mA (Continuous read at max speed)
Access Time 100ms
Buffer Size 128KB
Loading Type Motorized Tray
Interface Type Internal E-IDE / ATAPI
Compatible Formats CD-R/RW, Photo-CD, CD-Extra,
CD-I, Video CD, CD-ROM, CD-DA
Dimensions (W x D x H) 128mm x 129mm x 12.7mm
Weight 170g
O/S Windows XP, 2K

I am completely new to slimline DVDRW’s therefore, I have no idea which one would be compatible with the fixed plate in the PC. With the normal size DVDRW I plug a power lead in and an IDE cable. however, this is completely different can anyone explain to a newbie exactly what I can do to upgrade my PC from a CDROM to a DVDRW.

Before you buy anything, you better contact HP and ask which drives are compatible with their machine, or check their web site if there is anything there.

:clap:Thanks for your extremely informative reply, I wish I could say I hadn’t thought of that, but I had.

After spending 20 minutes talking to a guy who doesn’t speak alot of english I decided to hang up and ask here.

[QUOTE=brambles;2149507]:clap:Thanks for your extremely informative reply, I wish I could say I hadn’t thought of that, but I had.

After spending 20 minutes talking to a guy who doesn’t speak alot of english I decided to hang up and ask here.[/QUOTE]

I understand your frustration:doh: This crazy outsourcing is getting worse all the time.