Looking for some suggestions on a High Quality DVD burner

Greetings All!

First off, as you can see I am a noob extraordinaire, so I apologize for the rather generic question.

I have done a bit of research in to DVD burners, but I would like more input from the enthusiasts at this forum, hence this thread, Thank you in advance for any information you can share!

Now, before anyone begins naming off various models, I have some specific criteria for a burner. This burner will be used for creating master discs of high importance. Therefore, I am looking for the absolute best burning quality available. I am more interested in Dual Layer DVDs and DVDs than CDs, but CD burning quality is still important. I am not too familiar with the available features of DVD burners, so can anyone recommend any specific features I should look for that would be useful for the best error free burning quality possible?

Now, for the things that are not a factor: Price, cosmetics, size, noise and connection type (ide or sata). I believe that covers it for the most part.

If any further details are required before suggestions can be given, please let me know.

Again, thank you for any suggestions or information on this subject!
-The Chieftain

Welcome to CD Freaks.

There are several ‘which drive?’ threads running in the
Optical Drives (CD and DVD Burners, etc.) Forum. You
will find some opinions there. I am a happy Liteon LH-20
owner.

Since cost is not an issue, you could always buy two drives.
A Pioneer for burning and a Liteon for scanning seems to
be a good combination.

The Chieftain
An Taoiseach

Thank you.

I’m quite partial to Lite-On myself, however this drive is not necessarily for me, nor will I have to be doing any scanning. Would you recommend I further research in to the current Pioneer drives available? As I’m strictly going to be burning, would Pioneer be my best bet?

Thanks again.

-The Chieftain