Looking for good quality white shiny DVD-Rs

I made the critical mistake of using brandless (or seemingly brandless) DVD-Rs, and now I find that almost two years, later, some of them are going bad on me. I’d love to replace these, but it’s rather hard to find DVDs that look like these. I mean, there are the inkjet printable ones, but I’m not interested in those. I want ones with a blank white plastic surface (like most DVDs have).

The only thing I have managed to find so far are Princo, but from what I’ve read here, they sound rather bad. So I was wondering if anyone knew where to get DVDs of this particular type that are of a good brand, affordable, and long-lasting.

But I’m starting to wonder… by “degrade” I mean that certain DVDs I own cause my drive to make a terrible grinding noise when I put them in. I’m guessing this is the fault of the DVDs and not the drive since other DVDs work just fine in it. But I’m not an expert, so I’m not really sure.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

I don’t really understand what you mean by a “blank white plastic surface” - most commercial Video DVDs don’t have a white surface (label) but rather a label in many colors.

The other surface of the disc is the data surface, and that isn’t white on any DVDs.

I suggest you explain more clearly what it is that you seek.

I mean, on the side that you label the DVD, not the side on which the data is written. I’m looking for a DVD-R that has a white and shiny surface on the labeling side.

Here’s an example: http://www.mediaoutfit.com/-strse-350/Princo-4x-White-Shiny/Detail.bok

What I mean, is that, unlike inkjet printable DVD-Rs which have a labeling surface a lot like that of paper, I am looking for a DVD-R with a labeling surface that is white and also shiny.

And the DVDs I’m looking for are for writing purposes, i.e. data backup.