LiteOn SOSW-852S. The strangest problem i have seen

vbimport

Greetings to all.

Sorry i didn’t post in “the big SOSW-852S thread”, but i think this is most strange.

To start i will say i am a computer technician (ie experienced with repairs)

I am trying to replace the old dvd/cdrw drive in my laptop:
Its a Mitac 8640 (SIS 650DX, P4 2.8 Ghz, NVidia GForce-460 GO) with a QSI SBW-161 dvd/cd-rw.

I got a totally unused Lite-on SOSW-852s (PCS3 firmware) from an Acer laptop (well known from what i see in here) and i try to install it in my laptop (it fits ok).

1st problem (Solved):

The drive is factory configured to use cable select (CS), which Mitac did not support and did not detect it.
Problem fixed by grounding pin 47 in the drives connector (now recognised ok as master).

2nd problem (NOT Solved):

Inside windows the drive is recognized normally as slimtype Dvdrw SOSW-852S and Nero InfoTool reports the drive OK and fully capable --BUT–

It does nothing. It does not even spin-up. Any disk i put inside is invisible from explorer (the drive reports no disc). Same with dos, same when trying to boot from cd.
When I stick the drive back to the Acer, and it works OK.

I flashed it with other firmwares. PSX1, PST3, and last with the Sony PFS1 crossflashed (following the guides to the letter) but still the same behavior.
Works in the Acer, present but “dead” in the Mitac.

Any clou? I am stuck. It must be a compatibility issue with the Mitac, but what??? (The bios does not allow any setting changes to play with)

Has anyone seen this problem before?

You could try this: Go here, down load the eeprom utility and the IDE Location Changer for Slimtype Drives. Backup your current eeprom with the eeprom tool. Use the Location Changer to set the drive to master.

Allready done that. First thing i did was to backup firmware and eeprom. I have flashed them back, but still… Thanks though.

Some more info: