Liteon SOHW-1653S CD-RW and DVD-RW problem

What on earth is wrong with my Liteon drive. Whenever I burn a CD-RW or DVD-RW/DVD+RW it is turned into CD-R on or DVD-R/DVD+R? I think this problem appeared some time after fooling around with Adaptec ASPI-drivers and using the Eeprom-utility (or Omnipatcher or whatever it was) from the codeguys homepage. And yes, I’m a newbie.

The reason I updated my liteon drive was that I wanted to have higher read speeds and the ledfix as well. Well, I achieved the higher speed and also the ledfix. But what went wrong? I tried to follow all the instructions carefully.

I’m sorry I can’t tell exactly what did I do when upgrading the drive, because It was couple of months ago. I just realized this little problem recently.

Can someone tell me what to do (step by step) to fix this problem. I already removed the Adaptec ASPI with forceAspi and put back the orginal stock Firmware CSOT, but it didn’t help. Does this have something to do with the bitsetting? I’m willing to try again this Omnipatcher (I think it was this that I used) if only somebody gives me good instructions.

Thank’s in advance

-iec

Not sure if I understand the problem, but if you select to “finalize” a disc when burning, you can not add more data to it afterwards. You’ll have to erase and start again. So it could be a setting in your burning software that has changed (like Multisession in Nero). Or do you mean you can’t erase your RW discs?

I actually never use the “Finalize” option with CD-RWs or DVD-RWs in Nero but the problem really exists (but good that you asked that to make sure that I’m not making any easy mistakes). It really seems that even a DVD+RW burnt by my friend seems to be uneraseable.