Liteon sohw-1213s & tsd1?

Hi, I’ve had this drive installed for 8-9 months & reads cd’s / dvds ok also writes cd’s ok. I had never used it to write DVD’s before & now I find it won’t! :sad: I used Nerovision express 2 then tried 3 then tried Nero 7 all same - after 2-3 hours transcoding files it hangs at point when I expect it to start burning. The drive is locked - up, won’t eject, and XP degrades to point of needing forced reboot. ( Task Manager can’t delete Nero ). I’m new to DVD burning so have spent weeks trying s/w changes etc. incl. aspi files in windows, but to no avail. Since CD’s burn ok, I assumed the h/w could be ok. Other threads indicate problems with TSD1 & DL media only, but I have tried +R, -R, +RW & +RDL to no avail, ( all blank media recognised ok in Nero ). Any help welcomed. Should I apply TS0D firmware?? :eek:

update the firmware and test again. if it fails, then the hardware may be defective as cd and dvd writing are two different things for the drive.

Best thing to do with this drive is flash to a 1633 firmware.

a 1653s firmware would be even better, but first let him try if a simple update solves the problem.

I remember some other member did have trouble burning with NeroVision as well. He was advised to do the transcoding in NeroVision but write the videofiles to the hdd. Burn the files in Nero Burning Rom or Nero Express. It’s the way I always do it, it has the advantage to check the files if all is correct before burning. Maybe worth a try?

:iagree: Leo