LiteOn SHM-165H6S Slow reading/errors

vbimport

My new LiteOn SHM-165H6S seems to read audio CD’s quite a bit slower than I expected, and seems to be having quite a bit of trouble with copy protection. Read speeds tend to be under 10X, and in a lot of cases <5X. I just tried ripping “Some Cities” by Doves, which has a copy protection on it which I can’t determine (ProtectionID said nothing, see attachments); and the speed started at 5X then dropped to 1X after track 1 for the rest of the rip, which resulted in many many errors & pops and clicks in the audio. Is there anything I can do, keeping in mind I’m new to things like firmware flashes and such?

BTW- I got a message when inserting that CD - “To listen to the CD a number of files need to be updated on your PC.” That’s a first (I’ve listened to it before on my PC) I hit “Cancel”. It played fine with iTunes & Foobar regardless. ???

Hi,

I just ignore copy protected CDs. They are not only incompatible, but they are often stiffed with lots of C2 errors. If that were a CD you burned, you’d consider that a coaster.

Read speeds tend to be under 10X, and in a lot of cases <5X.
Because of the “bad” disc. Defective by design.
I just tried ripping “Some Cities” by Doves, which has a copy protection on it which I can’t determine (ProtectionID said nothing, see attachments);
Cactus Data Shield. Just check “version.txt”.
and the speed started at 5X then dropped to 1X after track 1 for the rest of the rip, which resulted in many many errors & pops and clicks in the audio.
This is normal for CDS protected CDs. There are tons of C2 errors, which makes is hard for any error correction mechanism.

Is there anything I can do, keeping in mind I’m new to things like firmware flashes and such?
Return the disc to the vendor. It is defective.