LiteOn LVW 5005... Prepairing then invalid disk

vbimport

Well i am very relieved to know that i am not the only person out there that is having problems with their LiteOn drive/burner!!!
i purchased a LVW 5005 “allwrite” in december and until about 2 or 3 weeks ago it was the best thing that i purchased in a LONG LONG time!!!

but to the point about 2 or 3 weeks ago i wanted to record some things off my DVR (tivo) so i put a blank dvd+r (out of a 1/2 used cake of sony dvd +r) something that i have been using for 3 months!! same brand everything…
put the dvd in the drive and sat down… 4 bars across the display of the liteon worried me a little. the “prepairing” that was on the screen worried me more… the “Invalid Disk” that showed on the screen and the blank display pissed me off.
so i tried another dvd… same thing
so i tried the rest of the 34 blank dvds and got the same results.
then i tried a dvd -R… well a little different… NO DISK…
ok… dvd-rw and it took about 5 mins or prepairing, but i acknowledged it…
and that is all that it will read a blank media…
have NO problems playing anything in the drive… just WILL NOT read -R or +R blank media…

does anyone have any suggestions or help for this??
i tried unplugging it… liteon tech support (level1) told me to install the new firmware which i did… still nothing
lvl2 tech support had me on hold for 1 hr and 34 mins before i got disconnected…
so…

What are the specs of your unit.

Which drive?

Which FW?

Has the FW been updated? Hacked?

This seems to be a growing problem that most people having are using the latest 1098 ES5 FW. I am beginning to suspect a FW bug of some sort. So please provide more info.

it began with the original fw that was in the system as of oct 2004… i then installed the “new” fw and there was no change…
i will open it up to get the drive id… but i have not yet attempted to hack it…
the sn is 0102-1140--
tried to get the version using the 2730 on the setup screen… but nothing…