LiteOn firmware

vbimport

I read the review about the LiteOn 24102b, and mine is on its way. I can't wait.

According the review it takes about an hour to read a SafeDisc2 protected cd. In the reactions section someone ( I think it was an administrator) stated that using the new firmware upgrades would cut that back down to 10-15 minutes.

My question is...What the hell is firmware? Is firmware like 'drivers' for the cdburner? 2nd, does firmware come with the burner...and are "upgrades" something that you have to pay for?

Have patience with me...I'm still learning!

Thanks

it is the software inside your burner, just like the bios is the software inside your mainboard.

is it safe to assume that I can get upgrades for the burners at their respective websites and just download/install them?

Thanks

Yes, firmware can be downloaded at the website of the manufacturer for free.

Things to consider:

• When your drive is working fine, most of the times there is no need to upgrade your firmware.
  • Sometimes new firmwares are upgrades for a specific feature, but a downgrade for another feature (that’s because you have limited flash-rom capacity), for instance my plexwriter PXW 4220… with firmware 1.0.1 I have full subchannel access, in versions >1.01 no more full subchannel access, but I have cd-text enabled.
  • Your can make your writer unusable when something goes wrong while flashing your writer.

So you have to consider if it is worth the trouble/risk upgrading your firmware!

Good luck!

:smiley:

Whats the best firmware (most functional) for the LiteOn 24x? I’ll be picking mine up tomorrow…so if you could let me know that would be KILLER.

Thanks

Sorry, don’t know that :frowning: But I am sure other people on this forum know the answer! Maybe you kan try the search-function of this forum first.

I’m getting one of those too.

I’d like to know if you ever find out:

adam.craig1@ntlworld.com

Mind you I mainly burn images that I get via broadband from Morpheus.