Liteon DVD-RAM Drive Help Needed SHM-165P6S

Hi everyone, Im new to this so please forgive me if I go on or post in the wrong area. Im going to try and be as descriptive as possible.

This is a Great forum…i`m hoping one of you can help me with the following:-

I have just purchased a brand new LITE-ON DVDRW SHM-165P6S Drive. Its very quiet… and is reading the discs (both blank and already written).
I have DVD Decryptor Pro and also DVD Info Pro to test it is working and alos that its reading and accepting the Media i`m insterting (mostly Ritek,but a mix of everything Discwise).

The Problem is I cannot burn or indeed read ANY discs…

When I double click on My Computer the Lite-on is displayed as a
DVD-RAM Drive (D) but when I double click that Icon, Windows says D:\ is Not accessible. Incorrect Function - this happens when I have Media that I know (from using DVD Decryptor+DVD Info Pro) the Drive is reading!

Also, upon right clicking the DVD-RAM Icon in My Computerand selecting properties, there are only 4 Options:-

General…Autoplay…Hardware…Sharing.

There is no option for enabling Recording on this Drive.

In Device manager its listed fine with no conflicts.

I`ve upgraded the Firmware (thanks to links from you guys) to the latest version MSON.

It reads fine in Bios on Startup and there are n other Drives installed on my PC currently.

I currently have the following Programs (whic dont currently burn) installed on my pc for burning :-
DiscJuggler - Error, writes disc after 1minute
Blaze Media Pro
Cd Burner Xp Pro - Says insert blank media

The only conclusion I can come to is that my NEW DvD Rw Drive works perfectly, and, that, I have somehow got some settings not quite right on my PC (an AMD 1.0GHZ Athlon Running Windows Xp SP2).
I have read quite a lot about how Service Pack 2 somehow muffs up the configuration of CD/DVD Burning Drives, but though i`d post here to see if anyone has any suggestions, or indeed encountered any similar problems.