LiteOn 811S Booktype Software

vbimport

I have been using the liteon 811s for several months now and i have created some great quality dvds. But now, the Lite-On BookType software utility no longer works and I can’t figure out why and how to get it to work again.

I have swapped out the motherboard on my computer twice in an effort to upgrade. The new motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-7N400Pro2. It had some problems with the IDE controller and I did an RMA on it. In the meantime I put my old one back in and now when I use my dvd burner i can’t change the booktype.

I updated the firmware with the latest and this made no difference. I tried the latest patch thing and unless I am clueless about how to use it, it made no difference. Even the DVDinfopro will not change the Booktype and the dvds still show as DVD+ rather than DVD-ROM. I am at a loss trying to figure out what went wrong unless the burner is a goner. It still writes DVD+RW but I haven’t tried any of the DVD+Rs because I have one player in our house that won’t play DVD+RS (it’s relatively new by the way, it’s not just the older players that won’t play them.)

Can anyone please help or advise?

thanks

If I understand what I have read I won’t need to use the Lite-On BookType software after flashing the firmware with the latest firmware + the patch thing.

Since I am on my own here i tried it and the dvd+ media was read by my player that won’t read dvd+.

I am going to ask anyway. Is this done automagically by the new firmware? I used a disk that was read as booktype DVD+ and media type DVD+ in DVDinfoPro.

:cool:

If you load the firmware with the autobitsetting thing, then your drive will automatically bitset all your burns and you’ll never have to bother with the booktype utility, with DVDInfoPro, etc.