LiteOn 52246S Firmware

vbimport

hey,
i was just wondering which is the best firmware to use for the 52246S.
i just bought a litey 52x and flashed to 680D for some reason, cause im a newb and i dont know if that was such a good idea.
any ways, which is the best firmware to use.

btw, what is the original firmware that comes with the 52246S, and is it possible to revert back to it?

Thanks

Original firmware that comes w/ the 52246S differs on what month the drive’s produced, so there’s no definite answer. As for reverting back to a older f/w, use mtkflash or winmtkflash.

The newest f/w for said drive is 6S0D, but quite a few people claimed it’s buggy for their system. You could try 6S0A, don’t remember anyone complaining about that one. However, the thing w/ flashing f/w is, if your shed’s working, don’t mess with it.

Originally posted by BoBo
is it possible to revert back to it?

You should have backed up the original first.
Since you’ve changed it for a new FW, there’s no way of getting it back.

there’s no way of getting it back, but flashing to an older firmware is still possible. :wink:

Originally posted by AZImmortal
…but flashing to an older firmware is still possible. :wink:
Well, it kinda goes without saying :bigsmile:

thanks for input
but in your opinion, which firmware do you guys think is the best/most stable etc. for the litey 52246S

6S0D here, it has made improvements in 24x RW burn quality and over-all read quality as well. No “bugs” on it.

Originally posted by BoSkin
Well, it kinda goes without saying :bigsmile:

that statement was for BoBo, not u BoSkin. :bigsmile:

i’m also using 6S0D w/o problems.

Not exactly sure if it is 6S0D that caused it, but after I flashed to 6S0D, I can no longer erase or write to my Memorex 4x CDRW anymore (Power Calibration Error). Tried flashed back to 6S0A, 6S0C, used ForceASPI, flashed motherboard firmware (some people have problem with Plextor and the Asus P4S8X mb)…etc. No luck at all.