Liteon 5045 Question about updating firmware

hello i am new here and also new to updating firmware (i have used PC firmware for my liteon DVD drives but i am totally new to using firmware for a HDD DVD recorder).
i have a Liteon 5045 and i have trouble recording of Sky on some channels with the protected content so i was looking into the firmware to see if it would fix this problem. Can i do this with normal firmware or does it have to be the hacked firmware. which version of firmware do i update to if i want to get past this problem since there are many versions. what firmware did my liteon come with (i live in the UK and bought my liteon 5045 christmas 2005). where on the liteon does it say which firmware it has ? also the most important questions are if i update my firmware will i lose the files i have on the HDD and also what happens if somthing goes wrong while updating the firmware and how would the best way to fix it be without losing data ?
i have already read around the forum and found a few articals on macrovision and how the hacked firmware can bypass this but i also read that after 197 firmware the macrovision hack doesnt work right so does this mean i need to use 197 firmware ?

Here’s the source for the 5045 hacked firmware,

http://www.ss3f.com/ilo/5045/index.htm

Unzip the file and burn on a fresh CD, don’t rename the file, and finalize the CD.
I would suggest to backup your recordings to be safe.
Do a “restore” under setup. You’ll need to reset your timers after the update.
Load CD and follow directions.
Once update complete and tray opens, remove CD, power down, and power back up again.