LiteOn 48125W and HDD access

Apologies in advance for any ignorance on my part - I’m by no means an expert.

I wonder if anyone has come across this problem before? For the past couple of weeks I’ve noticed the HDD access light on my system is flickering constantly when the PC is idle, once every second. It’s starting to annoy me - I can detect a momentary change in the note of the cooling fans as it occurs, and System Monitor shows a spike in activity every time too. Having investigated, my LiteOn 48125W CD burner seems to be generating this - if I give it a CD to read, when it’s finished the initial access, the HDD accesses finally stop - to start immediately again once the CD is ejected. A by-product of this constant accessing is that my system is never “idle” so System Restore does not automatically make checkpoints any more. Oddly, this all started 3 weeks after the Liteon drive was added to the system, not straight away (going by the date the System Restore activities stopped). This part I discovered by chance and I admit it was a while before I properly noticed the momentary faint flickers of the HDD light, though the audible change on the fan had been bugging me for some time.

I’ve heard of something similar happening with LiteOn DVD-ROM drives, but not with the CD burners.

My system is based on a 1GHz Athlon, Asus A7V (the original A7V) motherboard running Windows ME. The HDD is a Maxtor 5T030H3 (30Gb DiamondMax 60 Plus) on the primary master (via the onboard Promise controller), with the LiteOn as master on the secondary (non-Promise) IDE, with a Pioneer DVD-ROM slaved to this. If it’s relevant, the power supply is a 250W though the system builders have always insisted it’s good enough, and the LiteOn is an upgrade to the original (slow, non burnproof) CD-RW drive, not an additional drive where one wasn’t originally fitted.