Liteon 1107HC1 DVD+R playback

vbimport

Hello,

Yes I admit it, I’m a newbie to DVD-R recording. I posted these on one of the big boy forums recently and so far none of those “experts” have responded. I’m either being ignored for asking such stupid questions, or I’ve stumped everybody! Hmmm… I don’t ask stupid questions. Anyway, I’m an avid music & film collector. I’ve been recording & trading live audio recordings worldwide for many years and have diligently learned the proper way to treat a .wav file, edit it, and master it to cd-r. But DVD-R is a new animal to me. I hope some kind soul will take pity on me and lead me to DVD-R enlightenment. Here’s the first of many intelligent questions to come.

I recorded a +R disc on this recorder and it plays back fine (Philips brand)
I’m also able to play the 2 -R discs that I’ve received ( Maxell & K Hypermedia
I also have +R recordings on verbatim & tdk media that playback fine.

I have 4 +R Fujifilm discs recorded by the same person, 1 plays, 3 won’t?
I have 8 +R Sony discs recorded by the same person above, 2 play, 6 don’t?
Above recorded on a Panasonic stand alone.

The ones that don’t play display as follows: reading/+R AV2 rear/reading/ title/chapter/reading/+R AV rear. Then the display goes blank and the discs don’t auto load and begin to play. If I select menu, I can see and select the titles, but when I press play, nothing happens. These Sony & Fuji discs will all play in my Sony, Apex, (older models) and Pioneer (new multi -format) DVD/CD players, which indicates to me that they were all finalized… Sheesh! I’m confused.

Tempermental machine/media? Some difference in the way the players vs. non players were recorded? Anyone want to have a go?

Question # 2

I recorded adding chapters manually and all the chapters are accessible on playback in the LITEON recorder. However, when I playback on my Apex, Sony and Pioneer decks, the chapters are not there. Can someone possibly explain why?

Thanks,
Tom