Lite-On SOHW-812S not detecting DVD-Rs

I just got a Lite-On SOHW-812S DVD±R/DVD±RW and it seems to be unable to detect DVD-R disks. I used Nero with the DVD+R disk that came with the drive which worked fine but when trying to use Ritek DVD-Rs and the DVD-R that came with the drive Nero and DVDInfoPro don’t detect the disks. Im using Win98se, 800mhz Athlon, 256megs RAM, ASUS A7V MB, 80gig WD harddrive and a 30gig Seagate drive. Any ideas?

Hi
Well most Liteon drives doesnt really like dvd-r media, so i suggest you use dvd+r medias in the future. Now to your problem. I think you should try to upgrade your 812s to sony dru700 (rebadged 832s). I had a similar problem before and after upgrading my burned media worked fine. Firmware can be forund on codeguys site.

regards

Thanks for the reply Ronallan22, im fairly new to flashing drives so just have a few questions before I do anything…mainy is there any risk and is it possible to backup or restore the current firmware incase I have to return the drive? Id really like to get this drive to work with the Riteks as id hate to have wasted $40 so I may just have to give the firmware change a shot. btw could you give more details as to the problems you were having, I spent several hours searching through various websites and tech boards but couldnt find anyone with the same problem.

Hi again

Actually I had the problem using a no name dvd+r media, which doesnt have any media code so your media has likely have a greater quality than the mdeia i used. Ok for firmware upgarding you should do this:

1. backup your firmware using ltnfw or ltnflash (you can backup your eeprom with this prog also). Progs can be found in the tools collection.
  2. go to http://codeguys.rpc1.org/ and download the eeprom check removal and the sony dru700a firmware. you can also download the modified 832s firmware there, but i have getting better results with the sony one.