Lite-on sohw-1633s - Can't write at 16x

I’ve tried to burn at 16x speed (dvd+ discs)on this model but the burnt discs won’t play on the stand alone dvd players. It burns fine using 8x discs but won’t budge on 16x - simply won’t work.

I tried down loading some basic firmware (bsoy) from the lite-on website but no luck.

Any ideas on how this could be solved? I’m using the intervideo dvd-copy program to copy stuff on windows XP. Any help appreciated!

Hi and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Usually this problem is due to a bad burned disc. Not all media allow to obtain good results burned @16x.

Try to burn a little slower. What discs are you using exactly?

I’ve used various high quality 16x discs - maxell and philips. Intervideo dvd copy doesn’t seem to offer a slower burning option - I’m a bit of a newbie so not sure where to look though.

Thanks for the help!

try verbatim datalife plus 16x DVD+R. you might also want to give the codeguys firmware a whirl.

You’re welcome :slight_smile:

Sorry to delude you, but philips and maxell (if they are not made in Japan media) are not high quality media.

Try with a Taiyo yuden or a verbatim: these are the best available.

To improve compatibility, you can burn a +R media changing booktype in ROM; this usually solve playback problems with older standalones.

thanks - what is the codeguys firmware?

Take a look here

http://codeguys.rpc1.org/firmwares.html

I too have problem burning 16x dvd on lite on sohw 1633S burner. Tried to download software and would not let me, it said I had a 1-0-0-0 E:Lite-on SOHW S BGS4. Help.

Is it possible to adjust this lite-on (sohw 1633s) dvd recorder to reduce the recording speed to 12x when using Intervideo dvd copy? I got to see a the trailers on my dvd which had copied but quality completely broke up on the main feature. Maybe reducing the speed would help but I don’t know how to set the max??