Lite-On SHW-1635S CDROM reading problems

vbimport

I have been using the Lite-On SHW-1635S for about 6 months without any problems but today I noticed that it will not detect any CDROM media at all.

The only media it recognises are DVD disks.

I have tried several different CD disks in it but unfortunately it doesn’t recognise any of them. When I insert a proprietary audio CD in it, the drive just keeps spinning but doesn’t display any of the contents or start any of the audio tracks. With CD-R disks I don’t get any results either and the data on the disk is never displayed. Bootable CDs that contain an operating system are also not recognised and when I try to boot the computer from the CD it always fails since no CD is detected even though it is in the drive.

Like I said the only media it recognises are all the DVD types it supports.

The problem emerged when I was using Nero 7 to burn a CD-R and an error message kept coming up that no disk is present in the drive.

I have been using GEAR PRO in the past without experiencing any problems burning CDs or DVDs.
I then upgraded to Windows XP PRO x64 edition recently but GEAR PRO wouldn’t run properly with it since it couldn’t find the GEARaspi.dll it requires. I uninstalled it and then decided to try Nero 7 and it installed without any errors but then this problem emerged and I can’t burn CDs or read any CD media at the moment.

I have updated the firmware to the latest version for this model but again the problem it has with CD media has not been rectified.

I was thinking that perhaps reverting to Windows XP PRO 32-bit might correct this issue but I can’t install the operating system since it is on a bootable CD and it is never recognised when I boot the computer with the CD in the drive.

Any advice and help on how to fix this problem so that the drive can recognise all the CDROM media once more would be gratefully appreciated

Many thanks,

I.G.

Hi there!