Lite-On Newbie 1653-CSOM with questions. Help?

vbimport

Lite-on newbie here,
I’ve been using a (several) BenQ 1620, but I got the Lite-on 1653, CSOM for my silent PC project (to replace the BenQ that was in there ;)).

1. Very short drive actually fits tiny case
  2. When the Lite-on doesn’t have a disc, it’s ice cold (no 30+wattvalue idle heat output like the BenQ).

I got many bonus surprises, but, mainly, it’s everything I liked about the Sony products without the headache. Next, the quality meets/surpasses my BenQ’s. And add ATA66 that does not activate the VIAbug or Nvidia headache. (Plugged it in with BenQ’s retail high quality data cables). It also provided a zero-trouble smooth/refined experience–my very first experience like that in DVD-writer land.

But the 1653 CSOM has very slow DVD+R stock speeds.
I hesitate to change it because of the high quality performance.

I backed it up with the EEprom utility.

Does this mean that I can play around with CSOP and the 12x read speed, but [if I change my mind] change it back to the really wonderful condition it is in now??

How to read the list of non-working Omnipatcher recommended updates and convert the information for use with MediaCodeSpeedEdit? Since MCSE overwrites, the information would have to be in some sort of LOGIC order that it doesn’t overwrite a strategy that is needed in order to overwrite a stragegy. I’ll bet I could do that if I could make sense of that list (very same list that no longer works with Omnipatcher because of CSOP). My goal is to activate 12x read and 12x write with appropriate strategies for as many disc types as possible using MCSE.

Also, BACKUP your firmware, so you have a TRUE PONIT ZERO to return to incase of :a after upgarding to CSOP.

LITE-ON ORIGINAL FIRMWARE BACKUP+ORIGINAL EEPROM BACKUP= :smiley:

Hack away!!!