Lite-On LH-20A1P won't spin-up certain commercial DVDs

So this is my first time on this forum!

I just installed the Lite-On LH-20A1P DVDRW into my computer and it works great! However, certain DVD titles like Epic Movie, Fast Food nation, Pursuit of Happiness, and The Devils Rejects will not spin-up (be recognized). These DVD titles are brand new with no damage. Upon insertion, the Lite-On makes quick spinning noises and then just stops spinning. There are no error messages and Windows explorer has no indication that there is a disc in the player. However these DVD titles can be recognized and will play in my Dell Laptop, which has a Sony DVD player. The Dell laptop also uses Cyberlink PowerDVD to play the movies. My computer uses the supplied NERO software. What is the problem? Thanks Jasin

I have a liteon dvd that came with a gateway machine that won’t play ‘epic movie’. It has the same symptoms that you describe

It is a liteon ATAPI DVD WDH16W1PLG12

I can’t seem to find a liteon us website and the international one I found doesn’t seem to have firmware or any other support or upgrades. i would hope that a firmware upgrade would fix this, but don’t know where to find one. Have you had any luck?

Hi :slight_smile:
welcome onboard Jasin629. :iagree: :clap:
I had a similar problem with one of the LH-20A1P drives I had.
This was cured by updating the f/w.
Check yours to see if you’re upto date.
The latest is KLON.

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome onboard imasudonim. :iagree: :clap:
Your problem is that although the drive is Lite-On the f/w is third party.
Check with Gateway or whoever supplied your PC for any updates.
If you’re prepared to lose your warranty you could crossflash to Lite-On f/w.

Please excuse my absence, my computer has been down, but back-and ready but my pronlem is still occuring. I have the firmware update from litonit.com, however it is KL05 not KL0N. The problem still exists. Another movie to add to the collection is Dodge Ball.