Lite On LDW-411S - Simple Question :-)

I don’t have a DVD burner at the moment, I want one :wink:

This seems to fit my criteria : Cheap, Compatible, Reasonably Fast. I’ve noticed some people all over the net complaing about certain aspects of this drive, basically I will be burning movie, ps2 and x-box backups, I’ve been advised to use this media :

DATASAFE RITEK 1x-4x 4.7GB
Traxdata 4X DVD-R

Thats not a problem (whilst they aren’t the cheapest, I won’t be burning huge amounts of DVDr’s anyway).

So, the simple question is : Should I buy this drive?

Are there any MAJOR problems with it? I’ll probably be using - discs a LOT more than +

Thank you in advance if anyone can help me, I’m sorry if I missed a question like this in the forum but I did look and a lot of it is greek to me since I’m new to DVD-Burning.

Thanks again.

J.

Or should I pay £10 more and get the pioneer 106? It seems the only real difference is the CD burning speed? I’d be able to buy a wider range of media too wouldn’t I?

J.

First: Welcome to the forum!
Jebus F quote: “I’ll probably be using - discs a LOT more than +”
If you are going to purchase the drive now, I would chose the Pioneer 106, considering that your primary burning will be the
R(W)- format. Hopefully LiteOn will release a bios upgrade for the LDW-411S for which they will post, in their usually insightful way, “match more media.”
Jebus F quote: “basically I will be burning movie, ps2 and x-box backups.” I have no idea about ps2 and x-box backups, but either drive should be fine for the movie backups. This is just one opinion, get others!

Thanks for the welcome :slight_smile:

Why dyou say the pioneer in relation to using R- discs? I thought that it did both + and - at the same speed? (4x) :S

And yeah, more opinions quick quick hehe, thanks :slight_smile:

I am interested in this thread too…