Lite-On 812S - Any New Answers for Old Questions?

vbimport

I’m posting in the newbie section because that’s what I am – at least to the wondrous yet frustrating world of DVD (I’m also pretty new at this posting thing - so let me know if this one is too long and boring).

I own a Lite-On SOHW-812S (Single Layer, FW level = US0F, which is how it came out of the box about 12 months ago).

The drive is externally housed in a generic brand 5.25” box and connected via firewire to a modestly equipped PC (P4-2.66GHz, 1GB, 2*80GB, XP/SP2).

The 812S works just fine – at least it does with 4x TDK and OPTIstorage branded discs (which DVD Identifier tells me are really RICOHJPN - Media Type ID R01 Product Revision 002).

Naturally I now have a few dumb questions:

1. The firmware on the 812S is probably getting a bit long in the tooth. Is the latest upgrade (US0Q) “safe”? IE: given my setup what’s the recommendation about moving from US0F to US0Q? Yes, No, Maybe?
    I’ve never flashed anything in my life because I’ve heard so many horror stories about “bad flashes” that I’m very weary. There’s an old adage about not fix’n stuff which ain’t broke – but if that were true then it seems half this website wouldn’t exist ;-).

2. Anyway, I’ve downloaded US0Q from liteon.com but have also discovered OmniPatcher. If I were to upgrade which one should I be using and why? I’ve read the OmniPatcher doco and a few of the threads but I’m afraid most of the concepts don’t mean much to me right now. Obviously OmniPatcher exists to satisfy the needs of advanced users, but what’s in it for a newbie?

3. Irrespective of whether I go with the native, windows-based Lite-On flasher or OmniPatcher – will they work with a firewire connected 812S?

Finally, would it be really annoying to the DVD Gods if I raised the following ancient but apparently unresolved questions?