Lite on 5006 put in cd msg

hi there guys,im a newbie here,names craig,hope to be here a long time,anyway on to my problem,i was recently given a lite on 5006 dvdrecorder,the reason i was given it was because of a failed firmware flash or so im told,

anyway when powered up its says hello(how polite) then just says put in disc,no picture is displayed on screen-now ive had a good look round here and decided id try and do the firmware update but after making a bit of a racket the display just says error

the machine was made aug 2005 sn is 0101 0243 1163 f2sc and i think that the file that failed was LNHBE098.ES5 although i cant be sure.

is the machine buggered,or is there some way to restore it-thanks i appreciate you looking at this post and any help greatly recieved

Welcome to the CD Freaks forum :wink:

The request to put in a disc is an indication that its firmware has gone corrupt. For example, if your DVD recorder was working fine up until you tried updating its firmware, then the firmware you tried loading is at fault. Antoher possibility is the result of a power surge/spike, such as after a power outage.

To be on the safe site, I would recommend downloading that firmware again just in case the one you are trying to load is damaged. This firmware should be written to a CD-R or CD-RW in the same way as you would go about writing a document or other files to it. I tried the serial number you gave on Lite-On’s website to try and check what firmware is available, however it kept giving ‘Invalid code’, but then again it also asks for the country the DVD recorder it was purchased in, since Lite-On DVD recorders from different regions have take different firmware. For example, a Lite-On model bought in Germany will not accept firmware designed for a UK model.