Lite-On 32x any faster?

vbimport

I bought a new Lite-On 32x12x40x. I was backing up my audio CD which had 660mb data. I used clonecd to make an image and then to burn it on a 16x 700 mb CDR (Acer). It took me 6:30min to make an image and 9:10min to burn it. I had my read and write settings to max and yet it took that long. Then I used Nero 5.5 to rip another audio cd which was about 450 mb. I used a similar CDR (16x) and had my write read speed set to 40x and speed set to 32x. It again took me like 5min to read and 8 min to write. I dont why it took so long. Is it because my CDR was 16x, but then why did it accept 32x write speed. The other day I burned a 700 mb data from hard drive onto a Imation 24x 700 mb CDR and it took me like 9minutes and I used the verify option which took an additional 22 min. This is ridiculously slow. I am new with CDRW :frowning: Any ideas on how to improve the speed?

Thanks

make sure you have dma enabled on your writer and your reader also your hard drive i have got the 24 speed liteon and i can burn a full cd on the fly at 3:30 minutes

cheers bighun

chemieboy

you need to be a little more specific with your system information.

As you did not mention the OS that you are running, I can not be specific for suggesting a tweak for your OS with this regard.

If you happen to run Windows XP, MAKE SURE that you disable the native burning finction (adaptec) that comes with XP.

If you have this OS write back and I would go into more detail as to what you should do.

But here are a few hardware hints that could help you get the started.

• Try to install the latest Chipset driver including the IDE drivers appropriate to the chipset in your main board. For instance if your board has a VIA chipset the install the latest 4in1 V. 4.28 and the IDE performance drivers. Keep in mind that Clone 3.3.X has been optimised to specially take advantage of the main board chipset drivers.