Linux Mandrake - Gnome vs KDE?

To anyone who can help,

I’m planning a Linux project and decided to use Mandrake 9. I’ve NEVER used Linux before so I’m completely in a new area. As I understand it, you get a choice of desktop styles - Gnome and KDE.
Here are a couple of newbie questions:

1. What are the benefits pros/cons of each desktop?
  2. Where can I download programs for Linux (MP3 player, media player, writing software etc.)?

Warning! Don’t laugh! :o

1. Can you install Windows programs and work in Linux? Like running Mandrake and then install PowerDVD as my DVD player, Nero for CD writing, Winamp to play MP3s, and games like Counter-Strike?

Any help, tips, advice, suggestions would be really helpful. Thanks in advance. :confused:

There’s more than just KDE or Gnome.
There’s KDE, GNOME, Enlightenment, Blackbox, AfterStep, fvwm , twm , etc etc all with their own benefits and disadvantages.

Just try them all.

You can download a LOT of linux programs from www.sourceforge.net

about the third question: yes and no. There are some MS Windows emulators, but don’t expect them to work 100% with all your programs. For writing , playing mp3 , divx and stuff there are all various programs for Linux distro’s. Check sourceforge or tucows for a lot of them.

thats an interesting thought - do all the old unix shells like bash and zsh and the billion others that come standard with every sun distro exist on linux?

most desktops advantages / disadvantages are preconfigured options. for others, u have to map them yourself, if i remember correctly.

Thanks Mr. Belvedere,

Like I said, I have never used any version of Linux. The closest I’ve been to it has been the screenshots of Linux desktops! I have also been told that Mandrake is one of the most popular and user friendly, which is why I’ll try it out first.

Is there anything I should know before installing Mandrake 9?

• bugs? compatibility? warnings? settings? anything?